Age is Just a Number

My mom turned 60 last year. But just like how the title of this post suggests, age is just a number. My mom is cheerful and positive. With a bright smile, she happily greets random strangers wherever she goes. She loves to eat sweets and loudly sings along to a variety of songs. She even grooves away to EDM.

Anyways, I treated my mom out to a fancy dinner because hashtag imagooddaughter hashtag inevertreatedherout.

I wanted her to experience the best fine dining at NYC’s meatpacking district. My first options were Scarpetta and L’Artusi, but they were completely full and I couldn’t reserve any seats (if you want to dine here, make sure to call and reserve 3-4 days ahead of time). So my third choice was Fig&Olive. This place has really nice decorations on the wall and the service was also pretty good.

image

image

image

We ordered the crostini, paella, and salmon. Like any fancy restaurants, this place gives you really small portions. I eat a lot so of course, I wasn’t feeling full. But either ways, the food was good and my mom enjoyed it so it’s all that matters.

image

We also ordered wine. Fancy, huh? 😉 Oh, and I ended up actually buying a freaking $8 Evian water bottle because my mom and I had no idea that they provided tap water at the restaurant #brazilianproblems. So if the waitress mentions “water bottle” make sure you say no.

image

And to finish it off, my mom ordered dessert. I told her that she could order as much as she wanted that day without feeling burdened, so she really did end up going YOLO. And now I’m broke LOL but it’s ok as long as my mom enjoyed her dinner 🙂

image

To digest the food, we went for a walk around the district AKA photoshoot time!

image

image

image

“Look, Sunny, mom’s an elephant. Take a picture!” she exclaimed in Portuguese. #idontevenknow

image

image

Although this fancy date was expensive and made me mad broke, I do not have any regrets. This is NOTHING compared to what my mother has done for me, and I find happiness in being able to treat her to a dinner that I have never done so before.

image

Happy birthday, dear mom. Amo voce demais.

Leave a Reply

