Brazil Time

In 2015, I had the opportunity to spend the New Years and Christmas with my family (minus my middle sister who’s in China). The best place to spend it with my family? Of course, it had to be sunny and hot Brazil. The weather there is exactly the opposite of snowy New York.

My sister and I left New Jersey on December 24, 2015 and arrived home exactly on Christmas day. So I guess most of my Christmas was spent sleeping because I was so tired from the 9 hours flight, but I’m not complaining at all. Best way to spend Christmas 🙂 Just being able to see my parents made me happy enough.

image

My sister and I decided to buy matching couple vests and a professional Oral-B electric toothbrush as Christmas gifts for my parents.

After spending some quality time at home, I’ve gone on a traveling spree with my family. It was amazing. The first place we went was to my uncle’s sítio (farm/country house), an hour drive away from São Paulo.

image

image

image

image

My uncle has 3 horses and he named them after politicians: Dilma, Obama, and Patti LOLOL.

image

image

After two days at my uncle’s country house, we went to Rio de Janeiro to spend time at my mom’s friend’s house. I missed Rio so much! It’s truly a marvelous city (it’s called A Cidade Maravilhosa in Portuguese) and I was really wanting to go to the beach there to have some nice tanning time while sipping on refreshing coconut water.

image

image

This is the rooftop of the house, where you have a 360 degree view of Rio in addition to a mini pool. Can I live here?!

image

image

image

On New Years, the mothers prepared a feast and so many people were invited. On this day (known as the Reveillon), it’s a tradition for the Brazilians to wear all white. We spent the night bonding and excitedly counting down for the fireworks to commence.

image

image

image

image

image

image

After Rio, we came back to São Paulo and ended up going to another uncle’s house. Mom said we were going to a farm, but when I arrived it was pretty shocking because the place seemed more like a luxury house.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The struggle is real.. Even the older generation is now absorbed in social media and it’s so evident in this picture HAHA.

image

As soon as this trip was over I headed to Itapevi to meet up with the girls at Casa da Graça and help a mission trip team with translation. It was such a blessing! One of my goals for 2015 was to be able to serve God more and participate more in missions/church activities. Spent 3 days there and although it was super tiring, I’ve learned so much from it!

 

image

image

I can’t wait to go back to spend time in Brazil again soon!

 

Leave a Reply

